4 comments on “Whitewashed Urban Fantasy

  1. Thank You! I really wish there were more PoC characters in Urban Fantasy. Right now, I’ve sort of taken a hiatus from the kick-ass heroine stuff. I’m just tired of reading the same Laurell Hamilton and Emma Bull rip-offs.

    I’ve been reading a lot of the British Urban Fantasy which doesn’t fit the kick-arse woman with tramp stamp trope. One of these authors is Ben Aaronovitch and he has a Black male as the protagonist and that’s kind of cool. I also like Maurice Broaddus’ King Maker series, Max Gladstone and Nnedi Okorafor too.

    Another question I’m asking myself is, while there are more than a few series out there with male protagonists, where are all the Men of Color in Urban Fantasy? Aaronovitch and Broaddus are the only two writers I know.

  2. I’m so happy to see someone who agrees with me. I’m a writer of color, who’s focus is on YA and New Adult Urban Fantasy and Paranormal. I always make sure to have a diverse group of characters in my books, because the thing that really upset me growing up was my inability to see myself in any of the characters in the books I loved. I’m hoping to change that in the future!

      • Well, let’s hope that someone picks up my books. I’m in search of a publisher now – and I have a few who are interested – but I haven’t found an official home yet. I’m seriously considering self publishing and doing it on my own. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

